The Wright Law Firm For You

What types of alimony does Arkansas have?

Alimony, a financial support that one spouse provides to the other after a divorce, is a common element in divorce proceedings in Arkansas. According to Reuters, approximately 10% of divorces in the United States involve alimony.

The primary purpose of alimony is to ensure that the lower-earning or non-earning spouse can maintain a reasonable standard of living post-divorce. In Arkansas, courts consider several factors when deciding whether to award alimony, including the length of the marriage, the financial need of the receiving spouse and the ability of the other spouse to pay. It is important for individuals going through a divorce to understand the different types of alimony available in their divorce.

Temporary alimony

Courts may award temporary alimony during the divorce process. This type of alimony provides financial support to a spouse while the divorce is pending. It typically addresses immediate needs like living expenses and legal fees. The court determines the amount and duration based on the specific needs of the spouse receiving the support.

Rehabilitative alimony

Rehabilitative alimony aims to support a spouse until they can become self-sufficient. This type of alimony is common when one spouse has been out of the workforce for a significant period, often due to raising children or supporting the other spouse’s career. Rehabilitative alimony may cover education or training costs and is generally for a limited period.

Permanent alimony

Permanent alimony is less common and typically applies in long-term marriages where one spouse cannot become self-sufficient due to age, health conditions or other significant factors. This type of alimony continues until the receiving spouse remarries, cohabitates with a partner or either spouse passes away.

Knowing the differences and purposes of each type of alimony can provide clarity and help manage expectations during the divorce process.